

## The Royal Society of Western Australia

## "Kelvin" Medal Recipients



## 1924-1997

The Medal of The Royal Society of Western Australia was instituted in 1924 to mark the centenary of the birth of Lord Kelvin (26 June, 1825). The Royal Society Medal (originally referred to as the "Gold Medal" and then subsequently sometimes as the "Kelvin Medal' due to the association of the inaugural award with the centennial Kelvin celebration and because the medal bears in relief on its obverse side the head of Kelvin) is awarded approximately every four years for distinguished work in science connected with Western Australia.

The original dye for the medal, first struck in 1924, remains in the safe-keeping of The Society. The first three medals were struck in gold, and all subsequent medals in silver.

The first medallist of The Royal Society was Dr William J. Hancock, Government Electrical Engineer and Honorary Medical Radiographer at Perth Hospital, who in 1924 was the recipient of the Medal of The Royal Society of Western Australia, in recognition of his pioneering work in the medical application of X-rays.

The most recent medallists Dr Ernest Hodgkin and Dr Arthur McComb were presented with the Medal of The Royal Society of Western Australia, in recognition of their contributions to estuarine and botanical science in Western Australia.

## Recipients of the Medal of The Royal Society of Western Australia:

(reference to Journal of the Royal Society notice of medal award in parentheses)

1924	Dr W J Hancock: radiography; medical application of x-rays (10:xvii)
1929	Dr E S Simpson: mineralogy and geology of Western Australia (15:iv)
1933	Mr W M Carne: plant pathology; the bitter pit of apples (19:xi)
1937	Mr A Gibb Maitland: Pilbara survey and artesian water supplies (23:xi)
1941	Prof E de C Clarke: geology of Western Australia (27:v)
1945	Mr L Glauert: natural sciences (31:vi)
1949	Mr C A Gardner: botany, the flora of Western Australia (35:v)
1955	Dr H W Bennetts: veterinary science; live stock diseases (40:1)
1959	Prof E J Underwood: animal nutrition and husbandry (43:67)
1966	Mr C F H Jenkins: agricultural entomology and natural history (49:91)
1970	Prof R T Prider: geology; petrology and mineralogy (53:95)
1979	Prof R M Berndt: anthropology; aboriginal studies (63:29)
1979	Emer Prof B J Grieve: botany; ecophysiology and the flora of WA (63:29)
1979	Dr D L Serventy: zoology; ornithology and nature conservation
1983	Dr J S Beard: botany; vegetation classification and mapping (65:93)
1986	Prof C A Parker: soil biology
1993	Prof J R de Laeter: geophysics and geochronology (77:4)
1995	Emer Prof A R Main: zoology; ecology and nature conservation (78:89)
1997	Prof Ernest Hodgkin: estuarine studies (80:287)
1997	Prof Arthur McComb: plant growth and ecology (80:287)